Matthew Hall
Scholarship Chairman

mg image.jpg

This year's scholarship winner:  Hayes Daly

Scholarship 2019_edited.jpg


Top of the Morning Submission to the Natchez Democrat:


Krewe of Phoenix Scholars Sought


Happy Mardi Gras, Miss-Lou.


Many people are unaware that the Krewe is involved in more than parades and parties.  The Krewe of Phoenix awards the John S. Callon Scholarship each year to a deserving high school graduate in memory of our first king, Mr. Callon.



Information packets have been mailed to area guidance counselors.  I am encouraging all graduating seniors to contact your guidance counselors and apply.  Applicants should include a high school transcript, ACT or SAT score, letters of recommendation and a completed application and Krewe of Phoenix questionnaire.


A selection committee will evaluate the application based on the rubric that applicants can also get from their guidance counselors.  The committee will also be looking at the difficulty level of the courses the applicant has taken, including AP courses and upper level sciences and math.  Applicants should include any honors they have received such as class rank, valedictorian/salutatorian and awards.


The committee will look at involvement in extracurricular activities, art, athletics, jobs, and leadership roles.  Community service is important to the Krewe of Phoenix.  The committee will want to know which community service projects applications have been involved.

Applicants are also asked to include an essay explaining “Why you want to continue your education and what you plan for your life”.


The Scholarship applications will be sent to area high school counselors at the beginning of the year, an exact date will be posted later.


Graduates, please contact your guidance counselors for applications.  We look forward to awarding the John S. Callon Scholarship to a deserving Miss-Lou graduate.


Donations to the John S. Callon Scholarship in memory or honor of someone can be mailed to the Krewe of Phoenix.


Matthew Hall is the Krewe of Phoenix Scholarship Chairperson.

Congratulations to this year's winner: Hayes Daly!